BoonesLick Press
Dedicated to the Music of John Cheetham
Updated November, 2010
Questions or Comments?  E-mail the webmaster.

Copyright 2008 - BoonesLick Press
John Cheetham Headshot
Listen to Available Music

Though we can't offer full recordings for
copyright reasons, short clips of many of Dr.
Cheetham's works are available in the
catalog.  Some are actual performances while
others are MIDI recordings.
Updated Website Coming Soon!

About John Cheetham
John E. Cheetham, Professor Emeritus of
Music Theory and Composition at the
University of Missouri-Columbia, was born
in Taos, New Mexico in 1939.  He received
his Bachelor and Masters degrees from the
University of New Mexico in 1962 and 1965,
and a Doctor of Musical Arts in Composition
from the University of Washington in 1969.
Promotional Materials

Need materials for your concert program?  
Download them below...

For band:
  • Three of a Kind - 3-mvt suite, heavily jazz
    influenced.  Grade IV+.

For SATB choir:
  • Two Evocations - based on two poems by A.E.
    Housman, Loveliest of Trees, the Cherry Now and

For trumpet:
  • Contraptions - for unaccomp. trumpet.  Written for
    Keith Benjamin, Prof. of Trumpet at UMKC.  Intended
    as companion pieces to Concoctions.  9 short
    movements of whimsical invention.  Grade V.

For Woodwinds:
  • Phantom Variations for Oboe, Bassoon & Piano -
    5 mvt set of variations; 3 with piano, 2 oboe &
    bassoon alone.  Grade V.

For piano:
  • Scenes from Childhood - 12 short pieces inspired
    by Robert Schumann's work of the same title.  Grade
Newest Works Include:
Order Music? sells directly to the public.
We sell only music published by BoonesLick
Press.  All other publications can be obtained
through a reputable music dealer.
 To place an

1.  Find the name of your piece by clicking         
here or on the "Catalog" link at the top of     
     this page.

2.  Submit the form on the "Order Music" page by clicking
here or the link at the top.

Alternatively, you may download the full
catalog in PDF format by
clicking here, and call (573) 446-0450 or email the composer directly at

You will be contacted to arrange payment (by
,money order, or Paypal) and to discuss
shipping options.